Particularly impressive is the 1700 year old olive tree which stands at the location “Potima” and which is considered to be the oldest olive tree in Cyprus, and at the same time the tree with the longest diameter, having a periphery of 13 metres and a height of 6 metres. What is noteworthy is the fact that after many efforts of the Xyliatos Community Council, the age-long olive tree was placed under the protection and is maintained by the Department of Forests. In particular, the Department of Forests has issued a decree underlining the importance of trees such as the one in Xyliatos, and writes among others that these are “scientifically, historically, culturally and educationally important and that they constitute significant samples of their kinds, either because of their age or their exceptional size”.


Giorgos Karouzis, Strolling Around Cyprus, Lemesos, City and District, Lefkosia 2001
Xyliatos Community Council
Town Planning Law (Laws 90 of 1972 and the Amending Relevant Laws)

The Observation Point was created in 2010 as part of the rural development programs managed by the Department of Forests and it is located east of the village.

Access to the Observation Point is easy. In the centre of the village there is map with guiding arrows which have been placed along the route as well so that they can lead visitors to their destination.

A trail leads strollers from the road to the observation point. At the location there is a wooden kiosk and a big bench. This point got its name thanks to the panoramic view it offers towards the village, the sea of the occupied town of Morfou and the forests of Adelfoi and Machairas and Madari.

Moreover, at the Observation Point visitors can explore a rare geological formation which, according to popular traditions, is named “Oktipetra”. It is an ancient rocky formation which exceeds 30 metres in height and which stands as a pillar in front of a strange rocky scenery full of caves.

Xyliatos Community Council


The old, high bridge at Xyliatos village was constructed during the 1930-1940 decade.

Responsible of the bridge’s construction was the so called “Dasonomeio” (Department of Forests), during the period of British colonization.

The aim of the bridge’s construction was the improvement of the main forest road “Agia Marina Xyliatou-Xyliatos- Lagoudera-Saranti “.

The above road met the needs of rational management of the forest at “Xyliatos-Lagoudera valley”, of Adelphi forest. Additionally, it was the only road in the area serving the maximum of the following activities: –

(a) Quick access to the heart of the forest, for fire fighting,

(b) Marketing of various forest products such as timber, firewood, and charcoal, which were transferred, through the bridge, to other areas of the island.

(c) Transferring of golden oak charcoal from Madari, where they were manufactured, to various services of the British colonization,

(d) Protection of forests from illegal felling,

(e) Facilitating the above activities, the road contributed greatly to the welfare of Xyliatos residents and other adjacent neighboring forest communities.

This bridge, essentially, was disconnected from the roadnet, since the early years of the 1980’s decade, after straightening of the road.

The bridge was embellished and reformed to its present state, during the period 2014-2015, and  funded from the Rural Development Programme, 2007-2013, Measure 2.6 “Maintenance and Improvement of Social and Ecological Role of Forests”, Sub measure 2.6.1 “Non-Productive Investments “.